Markward Club honors city’s top scholastic basketball players

From left, Mia Farmer of Cardinal O’Hara; Philadelphia hoops legend Gene Banks, and Aaliyah Worley of Engineering & Science. The Markward Club honored Farmer and Worley. —SUBMITTED PHOTO

The Markward Memorial Basketball Club held a special awards ceremony to recognize the best boys and girls high school basketball players from the Public League, Catholic League, Inter-Ac League and the suburban leagues. The ceremony took place on Wednesday night. The male player of the year awards were given to Chris Bing, Central; Ja’Quan Newton, Neumann-Goretti; Sean O’Brien, Penn Charter; Jon Boback, Calvary Christian.

The female player of the year awards were presented to Aailyah Worley, Engineering and Science; Mia Farmer, Cardinal O’Hara; Margaret Anne Hubbell, Germantown Academy and Alex Louin, Mount St. Joseph.

The Ferguson Award was given to the top academic performers. The male awardees were Mick Barrett, La Salle; Jack Carden, Bonner-Prednergast; Qasim White, Simon Gratz; Wayne Stewart, Elverson; Pat Smith and Matt Funk, Archbishop Wood and Ryan Wall, St. Joseph’s Prep. The female recipients include Julia Schumacher, SCH Academy; Marlena Arrigale, Neumann-Goretti; Rachel Day, Marissa McGlinn and Laura Trisch, Archbishop Wood; Carolina Price, St. Hubert; Sarah Wilson, St. Basil; Asia Baker, Plymouth Whitemarsh.

Kevin Grow, a Bensalem High standout, received the Andy Dougherty Award. Rick Leonetti received the George Paull Award.

Gene Banks was the keynote speaker at the event. Banks, a former West Philadelphia High, Duke and NBA standout, was a Markward Award winner during his playing days with the Speedboys.


Brittany Hrynko named WBCA All-Region nominee

Brittany Hrynko has been selected as an All-Region nominee by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA). A WBCA selection committee will choose 10 of the nominees from the field of 52 candidates for the Division I Coaches’ All-America team. The All-America team will be announced at 1:10 p.m. on April 5 during the NCAA Women’s Final Four Super Saturday festivities at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

Hrynko, a Engineering and Science product, was instrumental in DePaul’s advancement to the NCAA tournament Sweet 16. The Blue Demons have won nine games in a row and 18 of their last 19. She has sparked DePaul to a 29-6 season — tying the program record for most wins in a season.

Hrynko is averaging nearly 13 points a game and leads the Big East in assists and steals. The 5-foot-7 junior guard is the first Blue Demon to earn All-Big East first team honors in back-to-back seasons and will start her 101st game in Saturday’s NCAA Regional semifinal.

She had 19 points and five assists in the NCAA first-round victory over Oklahoma and finished with 14 points and six assists in Monday night’s upset of Duke. Hrynko had a season-high 25 points along with nine rebounds at Villanova and tallied 21 points, nine assists, five rebounds and three steals at St. John’s. Hrynko has scored in double figures in 25 games this season and 69 games in her career. Her 198 assists is the third-best mark by any DePaul player in a single season.

DePaul will play the James Madison-Texas A&M winner on March 29 in the Lincoln Regional semifinals.


Villanova, UPenn compete at USTA Tennis on campus championship

The United States Tennis Association (USTA) announced Villanova University and the University of Pennsylvania as two of the top 64 coed intramural and sport club tennis teams that have qualified to represent colleges and universities across the country in the 2014 USTA Tennis On Campus National Championship, which will be played at the Surprise Tennis & Racquet Center in Surprise, Ariz., April 10-12.

The USTA Tennis On Campus program features more than 35,000 college students competing nationwide in intramural and intercollegiate coed club play. Since its inception in 2000, Tennis On Campus has grown significantly and today is played on more than 600 college campuses across the country.

This year four schools will make their debut at nationals in a field that also includes defending champion University of Georgia. Teams participating in the Tennis On Campus National Championship have advanced through USTA section championship play or received automatic bids from winning at the Fall or Spring Invitational.


Contact Tribune Staff Writer Donald Hunt at (215) 893-5719 or

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.