Garland is top choice in Hank Gathers league

Former Bartram standout Tyrone Garland will play for La Salle next season after transferring from Virginia Tech. — PHOTO/VIRGINIA TECH ATHLETICS

Tyrone Garland was the first pick in the Hank Gathers College League draft. The college league is a part of the Sonny Hill Community Involvement League. The league provides an opportunity for college players to compete throughout the summer months.

Garland will be playing for La Salle this season. He recently transferred from Virginia Tech to La Salle. The 6-foot-1 shooting guard was an All-Public League standout at Bartram High School.

After Garland, the following players were drafted in this order: Scootie Randall (Temple), Jerrell Wright (La Salle), Dalton Pepper (Temple), Damion Lee (Drexel), Khalif Wyatt (Temple), Carl Jones (Saint Joseph’s), C.J. Aiken (Saint Joseph’s) and Steve Zack (La Salle). These selections were the top picks overall. Individual teams also drafted players.


Team 1

Drafted Players: Tyrone Garland (La Salle), Tavon Allen (Drexel), Deshon Minnis (Texas Tech), Deshawn Curtis (Cheyney), Henry Messinger (University of the Sciences), Will Desantis (Immaculata), Devante Chance (Indiana U of Pa.) and Halil Kanacevic (Saint Joseph’s)

Protected Players: Andre Rivers (Lock Haven), Ben Mingledough (West Chester), Brandon Smith (Immaculata), Dartaye Ruffin (Drexel) and Harley Williamson (West Chester)


Team 2

Drafted Players: Scootie Randall (Temple), Markus Kennedy (Villanova), Jamir Hanner (Marshall), Amin Tanksley (Niagara), Joe Getz (Univ. of Maryland-Baltimore County), Rohan Brown (La Salle), Darryl Robinson (Cayuga Community College), Tyree Harris (Philadelphia University) and Patrick Lucas-Perry (Penn)

Protected Players: Cameron Gunter (Penn), Mustafaa Jones (Fairleigh Dickinson) and Will Cummings (Temple)


Team 3

Drafted Players: Jerrell Wright (La Salle), Mouphtaou Yarou (Villanova), Jaylen Bond (Texas), Eddie Mitchell (Rider), Derek Johnson (Philadelphia University), Duane Johnson (East Stroudsburg), Terrance King (East Stroudsburg), Matt Tobin (East Stroudsburg), Keelan Carins (Penn) and Steve Rennard (Penn)

Protected Players: Cameron Ayers (Bucknell) and Jeff Holton (West Chester)


Team 4

Drafted Players: Dalton Pepper (Temple), JayVaughn Pinkston (Villanova), Julian Lee (Manor College), Reggie Charles (Shippensburg), Barry Brockington (Mercer County College), Rakeem Brookins (Siena), Will Wise (Univ. of Maryland-Baltimore County), Tyree Smith (Pensacola State College) and Eric Flemming (Holy Family)

Protected Players: Brandon Brown (Millersville), Jerrod Johnson (Cheyney), Ramon Galloway (La Salle), Tyreek Duren (La Salle) and Daniel Stewart (Rider)


Team 5

Drafted Players: Damion Lee (Drexel), Jimmy McDonnell (Temple), Kervyn Haynes (Manor College), Lamin Fulton (St. Peter’s), Seamus Radtke (Chestnut Hill College), Pat Vasturia (Ursinus), Christian McNeeley (Manor College), Ron Lee (Community College of Beaver County), Henry Brooks (Penn) and Simeon Esprit (Penn)

Protected Players: Brandon Fox (Wilmington), Derrick Thomas (Drexel), Isiah Mason (Wilmington), Mark Blount (Neumann) and Nick Christian (Philadelphia University)


Team 6

Drafted Players: Khalif Wyatt (Temple), Casey Carroll (Drexel), Calvin Brown (Cheyney), Nurideen Lindsey (Rider), Nelson Torres (Immaculata), Derrick Carter (Rosemont), Kenny Johnson (Monroe Community College), Jesse Morgan (UMass), James Bell (Villanova) and DeShawn Herbert (Community College of Philadelphia)


Team 7

Drafted Players: Carl Jones (Saint Joseph’s), Aquil Younger (Drexel), Junior Fortunat (Rider), John Johnson (Pittsburgh), Mark Wilmer (Mansfield), Camryn Crocker (Penn), Troy Hockaday (West Chester), Muhammad Amin (Lock Haven) and Tyhiem Perrin (Shippensburg)

Protected Players: Kwahmere Gredic (Mississippi Delta Junior College), Marin Kukoc (Penn), Scooter Gillette (Niagara) and Will Kernan (University of the Sciences)


Team 8

Drafted Players: CJ Aiken (Saint Joseph’s), Goran Pantovic (Drexel), Austin Johnson (Rutgers), Stephon Baker (Lock Haven), Chris Williams (Calif. Univ. of Pa.), Tom Noonan (Princeton), Derrelle Sherman (Manor College) and Akil Anderson (Shippensburg)

Protected Players: Jereme Good (Hofstra), Pendarvis Williams (Norfolk State), Pieter Prinsloo (Marist) and Will Brown (East Stroudsburg)


Team 9

Drafted Players: Steve Zack (La Salle), Ty Johnson (Villanova), Juan’ya Green (Niagara), Garrett Kerr (University of the Sciences), Alan Flannigan (Lafayette), Jim Connolly (Philadelphia University), Anthony Myles (Rider), Langston Galloway (Saint Joseph’s), Ronald Roberts (Saint Joseph’s) and Tyrone Mann-Barnes (University of the Sciences)

Protected Players: Daryl McCoy (Drexel), Maurice Sutton (Villanova), Pat Connaghan (University of the Sciences), Rahlir Jefferson (Temple) and TJ DiLeo (Temple)


Contact staff writer Donald Hunt at (215) 893-5719 or

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.