All City Classic coming to Girard College

Lamarr Kimble, a sophomore at Neumann-Goretti, will be featured in the All City Classic.--TRIBUNE PHOTO BY BILL ACHUFF

There are a number of great high schools basketball players in the Philadelphia area. The fans will get a chance to see a lot of top scholastic players at the Wayne Ellington presents The All City Classic at Girard College, 2101 S. College Ave. The classic will be held on Friday at 5 p.m. Admission is $10.

“It’s good exposure for the players,” said Charles Monroe, the classic’s organizer. “That’s the big thing. We’re going to have Tom Konchalski (HSBI Report) and Al Rubin (Hoop Scoop) who work for the high school scouting services. A lot of Division I coaches read their reports.”

“Also, I really appreciate the support that Wayne Ellington has given us. Wayne played in the classic before he went to North Carolina. Now, he’s in the NBA (Cleveland Cavaliers). He remembers how much the All City Classic helped him as well as other players in the area. This should be good classic. We have a lot of good players.”

The classic will have one freshman game, two sophomore games and one game for juniors. Some of these players are already established and on the radar in terms of recruiting. However, there are some relatively unknown players who will benefit from this showcase.



Nazeer Bostic, Math, Civics & Sciences; Nyseir Brooks, Imhotep; Jaekwon Carlyle, Imhotep; Anthony Carr, Abington Friends; Marquise Collins, Chester; Vaughn Covington, Neumann-Goretti; Devon Goodman, Germantown Academy; Austin Harriot, Germantown Friends; DeAndre Hunter, Friends Central; Steve Jordan, Conwell Egan; Khalif Kroma, Roman Catholic; Jabri McCall, Math, Civics & Sciences; Terquin Mott, Life Center Academy; Paul Newman, Roman Catholic; Lapri Pace, Conwell Egan; Quincy Reed, Father Judge; Anthony Satchell, Constitution; Josh Sharkey, Abington Friends; Nyrique Smith, Monmouth; Lamar Stevens, Abington Friends.



Jamal Holloway, Camden; Rasheed Brown, Neumann-Goretti; Anthony Thomas, Archbishop Carroll; Quadir Phillips, Academy New Church; Quadere Allen, Eastern University Charter.



Ernest Aflakpui, Archbishop Carroll; Levan Alston, Haverford School; Sean Lloyd, Haverford School; Donovan Barnes, Strawberry Mansion; Jihad Barnes, Girard College; Jule Brown, Lower Merion; Chris Clover, St. Joseph’s Prep; Tim Delaney, Pitman; Traci Carter, Life Center Academy; Samir Doughty, Philadelphia Electric & Technology Charter; Malik Ellison, Life Center Academy; Marcus Floyd, The Phelps School; Sam Foreman, Vaux; Carnel Harley, Imhotep Charter; Tyheem Harmon, Math, Civics & Sciences; Gemil Holbrook, Penn Wood; Marques Jackson, Prep Charter; Vincent Jackson, Academy of New Church; Quamier Johnson, Shipley School; Derrick Jones, Archbishop Carroll; Nick Jones, Archbishop Carroll; Lamarr Kimble, Neumann-Goretti; Akeem King, Constitution; Devin Liggeons, Imhotep Charter; Dymir Logan, Imhotep Charter; Shafi Meachum, Palumbo; Derek Mountain, Haverford School; Chase Rodgers, Plymouth Whitemarsh; Corey Sherman, Lower Merion; Horace Spencer, William Tennant; Manny Taylor, Roman Catholic; Khalief Tinley, Vaux; DeVante Truitt, George Washington; Rahim Washington, Prep Charter; Michael Watkins, Bartram; Trevaughn Wilkerson, Roman Catholic; Kimar Williams, Constitution.



Mange Watson, Northeast; Shawn Witherspoon, La Salle; Jonathan Lawton, Friends’ Central; Mike Jolasso, Epsicopal Academy; Quadire Truesdale, Frankford; Najee Walls, La Salle.



Eric Anderson, Haverford School; Mikal Bridges, Great Valley; Conrad Chambers, Chester; Jamal Custis, Neumann-Goretti; Jahyde Gardner, Friere Charter; Shep Garner, Roman Catholic; Troy Harper, Neumann-Goretti; JaQuan Johnson, Lower Merion; Rashann London, Roman Catholic; Tyrell Long, Bishop McDevitt; Justin McFadden, Lower Merion; Louis Myers, Math, Civics & Sciences; Ja’Quan Newton, Neumann-Goretti; Floyd Prieto, Constitution; Joe Robinson, Abington Friends; Malik Robinson, Father Judge; Pat Smith, Archbishop Wood; Malik Starkes, Math, Civics & Sciences; Mustpha Traore, Prep Charter; Basil Thompson, Imhotep Charter; Tony Toplyn, Neumann-Goretti.



Deion Evans, Imhotep Charter; Greg Bennett, Martin Luther King; Anthony Wright-Dowling, Sankofa Freedom Charter.


Contact staff writer Donald Hunt at (215) 893-5719 or

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.