NEW YORK (AP) — Derrick Barnes and illustrator Gordon C. James are among the winners of the Kirkus Prize for the children's book "Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut."

Trade publication Kirkus Reviews announced winners Thursday in fiction, nonfiction and young readers' literature. Each receive $50,000. The other recipients are author Ling Ma's apocalyptic debut novel "Severance" and Rebecca Solnit's essay collection "Call Them by Their True Names."

Support Local Journalism

Now, more than ever, the world needs trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by making a contribution.

The Kirkus Prize was founded in 2014. Previous winners include Ta-Nehisi Coates, Susan Faludi and Jason Reynolds. -- (AP)

(1) comment


Congratulations to you both.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.