Iconic radio personality Dyana Williams announced Wednesday morning that Kool and the Gang will be honored during the 20th annual Marian Anderson Awards Gala and Concert.

The event, which honors artistic excellence, will be held Nov. 12.

Current members of Kool and the Gang are: Robert "Kool" Bell, Ronald Bell, George Brown, Dennis Thomas, Michael Ray, Curtis "Fitz" Williams, Shawn McQuiller, Amir Bayyan, Tim Horton, Lavell Evans, Jermaine Bryson, Walt Anderson, Ravi Best and Shelley Paul.

Among the group's many hits are: "Celebration," "Ladies Night," "Get Down On It," "Fresh," "Jungle Boogie," "Summer Madness," Hollywood Swinging" and "Cherish."

Williams said the event will be headlined by music producer and Chic co-founder Nile Rodgers and Bill Jolly will be the music director.

Tickets are on sale now.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.